Even if users remove the photos, GIFs, or videos from their on-board storage or SD cards, they will be able to go back and grab the media files from within chats.
While this may seem like a handy tool to helps users maintain access to media without the need to store files locally, there is something slightly troubling about the situation.
It confirms the Facebook-owned company is users storing images on its servers long after they may have been deleted.